The trophy for the best short film went to the south tyrolean filmmaker Lisa Maria Kerschbaumer, who won over the audience with her film „Der kleine Cowboy“ (en: „The little cowboy“). The main actors of the short were Valentin Reichhalter as the protagonist, aswell as famous names of the south tyrolean film industry like Thomas Hochkofler and Eva Kuen.

The Documentary Award went to „Davos“ by austrian director Daniel Hoesl, who couldn’t take part at the ceremony due to another screening in Zurich. Nontheless he was able send the local audience an acceptance speech via video message. „Davos“ was chosen as the winner by a jury whose three members were Enrico Vannucci, Ronny Trocker and Christoph Schaub. 

Through precise observation the film develops its own poetic view portraying a small town in the Swiss Alps. At the sam time, during the passing of four seasons, the film depicts the complexity of the lives of its inhabitants and the absurdity if the ones of its visitors, thus creating a metaphor for our contemporary world. Daniel Hoesl and Julia Niemann question our own role in this globalized world, quite often doing so with a humorous approach. The award for best documentary goes to „Davos„, so the jury in its statement.

On Thursday „Davos“ celebrated its italian premiere in Val Gardena.


The film festival from the Dolomites.

Filmfestival de Gherdëina

Rezia Str. 102, 39046 Ortisei, Italy

+39 0471 796 046

© 2019 All rights reserved